Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Jeffrey Thunders Interview
Jeffrey Thunders Interview
I met Jeffrey thunders when i played in the USA with Badass Mother Fuzzers in 2017 and Los Jamones in  2013 and we were lucky to play with his two great punk bands  The Lost Riots at Don Pedro's in Brooklyn and The Ratz at cafe 9 New Haven CT . He is also involved in recording songs for his solo project Jeffrey Thunders and the Scabs and  has started his own rercord  label Die Hipster Records .  
 
Hi Jeffrey Happy New Year and how are you ?
 
Happy New Year! I am well. I hope everyone on your end is holding up alright. 
 
Can you introduce yourself and tell us about your influences and how you came to write songs and play music?
 
Sure. I'm Jeff! I'm a rock n roller from Connecticut. As far as influences that's a tough one. I'd say they range from Bruce Springsteen to Keith Morris. Also growing up in New Haven, Ct has always been helpful. Ya know the ins and outs of city life. Having NYC essentially in my backyard doesn't hurt either. There were many nights I'd hop the train and head into Manhattan. That's the thing. There's a commuter train that goes directly from New Haven to NYC. Another influence is the day to day workings of what's happening around me. Politics or everyday life. Some times a certain lyric or song I hear is also an influence. Craig Finn has been a huge influence as of late. He's one of my favorite lyricists. And fuck, how can I forget Paul Westerberg. I have a  weird fascination with him. 

 

 
How have you been affected by the covid crisis ?
 
Well I'm considered an "essential worker" so work hasn't changed but pretty much everything else has. I can't remember the last time I've been in a room with The Lost Riots, and The Ratz have practiced maybe 3 times since it all began back in March 2020. Of course there's no shows and with  bars being closed, there's no going to get pints with friends. I keep saying it's like the movie "28 Days later" ya don't know who has it, and will they infect you?
 
You are playing in various bands like The Lost riots, The Ratz... Can you tell us about them, your releases, shows, and about their band members ?
 
 
The Lost Riots Released our second full length in December 2019. It's called "The Kids You Love To Hate" (I have in and put it on spotify) . It's one of the best things I've ever Released. We have a couple 7"'s and have been on a bunch of comps in the  past too.  It's been a tough go though with covid , and our drummer left this past spring. Hopefully we can get back at it soon with a new drummer. Last year Scott Fitch starting playing guitar for us and it's been a world of difference. He's so calm and collected but knows how to write a banger of a tune.
 
 
 
The Ratz Released a 7" titled "After The Blackout" in January 2020. It's been getting some good press, and we're almost sold out of the first pressing so that's been awesome. Matt Mullarkey plays bass in both bands. Ines Segarra is on lead guitar, and Elvis Belushi is behind the kit. We all swap vocals. I keep calling us an old school West Coast hardcore punk band. I'd say it's something along the lines of The Adolescents, Black Flag, DOA. We started writing new songs and are gonna be working on another 7" this month. As far as the rest goes? Well that's in covids hands. 
 
 
You have been really prolific lately with your solo project “Jeffrey Thunders and the Scabs”, what made you feel the need to start this project and how and with what musicians do you work ?
 

 

 
The Scabs is essentially myself and Scott Fitch (who is also in The Lost Riots with me). It's more or less a file sharing, recording project. The original concept was to release a single a month. However since covid started, and everyone was home, it turned into alot more. Some Scabs songs could have been Lost Riots songs. In reality to be on a Scabs song it's open to anyone. We've normally have Vinnie Pecoraro on organ. She plays in a band called Sonorous Rising, Lys Gulliorn has appeared on a song and id love to have her again. She's a phenomenal singer/songwriter from Connecticut, Nick Lobalbo from CT Punks White Thrash has also been on Scabs recordings. It's been a ton of fun doing that. Maybe in 2030 when we are allowed to play I'll do a Scabs show?
 
 
You have also started your own record label “Die Hipster records” . How and why did you create it and what are your projects with “Die Hipster records” ?
 
 
 
 
Originally Die Hipster was my name when I was booking shows around town. It was "Die Hipster Productions". However I used it as a way to get my own bands album out because I felt like no one was willing to help release it. So I said fuck it and did it myself.  Then I started to break out and help other bands. I used Lookout Records as a model. Lookout had bands from the East Bay mainly on the label. So what did I do? I keep it mostly connecticut or New England bands. Anything I do is on Die Hipster (of course), but also Cry Havoc, Easy Killer, Marko Bruiser, Stiletto Bomb, Scotty Saints, Hornets!, And from the UK Danny Cleaver have all appeared on DHR. I've also been doing quarterly comps and zines to coincide with the comp release. Ya know old school shit. 
 
 
How do you and your friends feel about the latest American elections and do you think that it’s going to change a lot of things in the USA in the years to come ?
 
What a total embarrassment this whole thing has been. America has become the laughing stock of the whole world. My friends are happy Joe Biden has won the election. It seems like it's a breath of fresh air from 4 years of being fed dog shit. But will things change? We will see. Biden has chosen the most diverse cabinet in American history so that's pretty awesome.  I'm worried that this megalomaniac is gonna try to run again in 2024. It's a bit unnerving seeing all the support Trump gets. It's almost like he's a cult leader and half the country is drinking the cool aid. Ugh. I can't stand him. However I will say the one good thing he did was get people into politics. But yeah I'm hoping for happier times in America. It's a wonderful country with great diverse history that needs to be celebrated. 
 
Is your music influenced by or dealing with politics ?
 
I always  tip toed around it until Donald Trump came into office. The Ratz have a song called "Red White and Blue" on our latest 7" and we have some stuff in the works that lean heavily into politics. I also have  songs with The Scabs called "Don't Trust The Government" and "Children Of The Future" that are very political.  I spent the greater part of 2020 listening to Anti Flag so that's been a bit of an influence on what I've been writing also.  It's tough as a punk rocker in america to not be tuned into what's happening in Washington. 
 
If you had to take 10 records and a guitar with you to a remote island which ones would you take ?
 
You know you think this is an easy question but it's actually very difficult one. Let me see if I could get through it all and give you 10 solid ones.
 
1. The Scandals - " The Sound Of Your Stereo"
 
2. The Reatards - "Teenage Hate"
 
3. Rancid - " ...And Out Came The Wolves"
 
4. Against Me - " Searching For A Former Clarity"
 
5. Bright Eyes - "I'm Wide Awake It's Morning
 
6. The Clash - "Give 'Em Enough Rope"
 
7. The Damned - "Damned, Damned,Damned"
 
8. Jason Molina - "Let Me Go, Let Me Go, Let Me Go"
 
9. D Generation - "No Lunch"
 
10. Gorilla Biscuits - "Gorilla Biscuits" 
 
 
 
Thanks a lot for answering my questions and wishing you all the best with your various projects .
 
 
Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :